Daniel Agger signs new contract with Liverpool

By Kevin Koczwara

Liverpool announced today that the club has come to an agreement with Danish defender Daniel Agger on a new long-term contract. Agger joined Liverpool from Brondby in January 2006 and plans to spend more years with Liverpool.

“It means everything to me. This is where I want to be and I’m happy the club want me. I am really happy right now. I’ve never wanted to go anywhere else,” Agger told the club’s website after signing the new deal.

“I feel I am a part of this club – and I want to be a part of this club in the future,” he continued. “I like the way it is going right now with the style we’re playing, and hopefully the results will come soon as well.

“The support from the fans has been unbelievable. The game when they were singing all the songs about me, it was difficult to focus on the game! It was such a good experience for me and I’d never experienced anything like it before.

“That is why I am so happy here. That for me is Liverpool Football Club.

“I feel I belong here and as long as the manager and the owners want me, I’ll be here.”

Agger has played 177 times for Liverpool, scoring nine goals, and been first-choice at the left-side of the defense when fit. Earlier this year the defender got YNWA (You’ll Never Walk Alone) tattooed onto his knuckles.

Managing Director Ian Ayre was pleased with being able to sing Agger to a new deal, which is the fourth new contract for a first-team player this season after Martin Skrtel, Luis Suarez and Jonjo Shelvey.

“Daniel’s contribution since joining the club in 2006 has been absolutely fantastic and his loyalty to the team is recognised by the deal he has signed today,” said Ayre. “Daniel always made it clear he wanted to stay at Liverpool and we’re delighted that he’s committed his future to the club.”

Leave a Reply

